I CON(‘t) Make Up My Mind

I love sci-fi conventions!  Con’s if you will.  I’ve only been to one thus far but it was AMAZING.  Possibly the most fun a person could have with a $25 day pass.

The year was 2006.  It was November in Springfield, MA and I just happened to find a link to a convention that was happening that very weekend.  It was Friday in the law library.  I was clearly hard at work (especially considering I was apparently researching sci-fi con’s on the internet).  After I did a happy dance while seated at my cubicle I promptly called my WNEC sci-fi comrade to let her know about the event.  A few hours later we were drinking and talking BSG with our new friends from Boston, dishing Star Trek DS9 with a clerk for the Supreme Court of Connecticut, and chillin’ with some Klingon’s.

Like I said, it’s amazing.

Now it’s a year and a half later and I’m dying for a con.  I was super psyched about Starbase Indy when I moved back to Indianapolis from Springfield.   The year I was in MA they had Katie Sackhoff as a headlining guest.  This past year it was the dude who played Darth Maul in Star Wars Episode 1.  ??  I know.  That’s what I thought too.  The guy never spoke nor did you see his face in the entire film!  Lame.  I did not go.

Since that time Starbase Indy has been acquired by Vulkon Entertainment.  The 2008 guest list started off by snaging John De Lancie (Q from Star Trek).  Done.  Sold.  I’ll be there.  Tickets are reasonably priced at $159 and $99.  Depending on who else ends up on the guest list I may just buy a day pass.  Either way it should be worth it.

But that’s just some local fun.  I really want to GO to a sci-fi con.  A destinati(con) if you please.  Of course top of the list are Dragon Con (in Atlanta) and Comicon (in San Diego).  But those are a given.  I also would love to spend copious amounts of money touring around the Creation Entertainment Con network sometime.  They’ve got all of my favorite show specific cons.  Star Trek Las Vegas would be stellar.  Janeway’s gonna be there!!  Plus, about every other cool person who’s been on Star Trek over the years.  The Stargate Con in Vancouver.  Wow.  Creation’s got it all – Xena.  Serenity.  Battlestar Galactica.  Farscape.  Lord of the Rings.  Lost.  The list is impressive.

Now you can see my dilemma.  I con(‘t) choose.  I want to go to them all.  But at $350/weekend pass + hotel and travel I can only do one.  Maybe one.  That’s about $800 to spend on weekend.  It’s well worth it in my opinion.  I just want to make sure I spend it wisely.

Some folks want to go to the beach.  Me, I want to put on my “frak” t-shirt and get all geeky for the weekend.  🙂  Best.  Time.  Ever.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

