The Ultimate Question: Where to begin?

An avid fan of science fiction from the moment I saw Agent Mulder’s “The Truth is Out There” poster in high school, it was really only a matter of time before I started watching Star Trek.  Couple this inevitable occurrence with the easily available DVD TV series and I ran out of excuses.  Star Trek is a huge empire though.  Where in this galaxy was I supposed to begin?

Some folks urged me to start at the beginning.  That sounded reasonable to me.  Captain Kirk.  Mr. Spok.  Scottie.  I mean these are all of the Star Trek characters of legend.  I wasn’t feeling it though.  I find older shows a bit difficult to watch sometimes if I am not really interested in the story line.  So, the original series was out for my beginning point.

In my youth I had watched a few episodes of The Next Generation and enjoyed it very much.  In fact, I’ve seen all of the TNG feature films.  Still wasn’t there for me though…

Enterprise…  Eh, I really didn’t want to start with Scott Bakula.  I think that would have ruined it for me.   Star Trek fan sites also seemed to rank it at the bottom so I felt confident in checking that one off the list fairly quickly.  I think I’ll probably watch it last.

My best friend from law school last year is a big Deep Space Nine fan.  Usually agreeing with her in taste, I’m sure I would have enjoyed it.  Sadly, the opportunity to watch a DS9 episode never happened upon me.  In effect, it’s going to have to settle for 2nd place in my series viewing.

That leaves only one, Star Trek Voyager.  I LOVE IT!  Last week I was flipping through the channels in my afternoon break before class and I caught the beginning of Voyager.  It was great.  I DVR’d that episode (“The 37’s,” episode 1 of season 2) and I haven’t missed an episode yet.  I plan on Netflix(ing) the first season in the near future so I am all caught up.

Why Voyager?  The answer is simple, Janeway.

janeway

I have an absolute weakness for powerful female leads on television.  Xena.  Scully.  Buffy.  Colonel Carter.  I think they are all wonderful, and Janeway is an excellent addition to the list.  Perhaps I like them because I, as a woman, aspire to have similar strength, courage, and wisdom.  Or, perhaps (and probably more correctly) I like those qualities in all people.  I just think it’s cool when the women kick butt!

Anyway, I am beginning my Star Trek endeavor stranded in the Delta Quadrant with the crew of the Starship Voyager somewhere in the middle of their second year.

4 comments so far

  1. Jesse on

    Dizzy on Starship Troopers. COME ON.

    I DEMAND you do some stuff on Starship Troopers.

  2. diremirth on

    Dizzy…her death left a painful void. *sigh.

    Don’t you worry. Starship Troopers will SO make appearances.

    I LOVE that movie!

  3. […] “Broken Bow” was Season 1, Episode 1.  What was I to do?  I had earlier mocked that Scott Bakula would force me to watch Enterprise last…fate proved me wrong.  I am watching Enterprise now. […]

  4. S Treader on

    Yep, really liked Enterprise. Bakula didn’t have to carry the entire show – the other actors were able to show their stuff. It ended too soon. Not happy with the finale.


Leave a Reply

